Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Any physios or anyone who knows about back pain about?

(14 Posts)
Mrsfloss Thu 23-Nov-17 13:35:46

I visited physio last week who said all fine you just need to stretch.

On gp referral they have stated

Significant loss of range lumbar spine capsules pattern

Sj provocation tests Bilaterally positive

Weakness in gluteal muscles

Is this nothing to worry about?

I’m in chronic back pain

goldierocks Thu 23-Nov-17 14:00:18

Hello OP...sorry to hear you're in pain, it sucks flowers

I'm not a medical professional, but I did have a bad accident resulting in a major surgical reconstruction effort (titanium rods and bolts) of my lumbar spine. I still have weekly physio.

Are you sure it says SJ and not SI?
'Positive provocation' means it hurts when you move or are touched in that area. The 'loss of range....' means you have restricted movement.

You have 3 gluteus muscles in your bottom area. Do you have pain there in addition to weakness? If so, that would make me think 'sciatica'.

Sounds to me like your physio wants to stretch/open your spinal column to relieve pressure from a disc or discs. Were you given a daily exercise regime to follow at home? Those exercises are really helpful, but IMVHO you won't see a difference for 2-3 weeks.

If you don't see any improvement after that time, I'd ask for a referral for an MRI scan.

I find heat works best on the days I have most pain, other folks prefer cold (bag of frozen peas in a tea-towel). Nurofen Plus is ok for light pain days, but I have stronger painkillers for when I'm bad.

Hope you feel better soon.

Mrsfloss Thu 23-Nov-17 14:12:38

Thanks goldie!

It doesn’t affect my legs though or bum. It’s defo my back.

Its miserable! Wonder why the physio didn’t tell me what he wrote in gp letter. He just said it’s fine stretch it!

Fluffymonkey Thu 23-Nov-17 14:29:10