Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Advise me on how to build a good fire please?

(64 Posts)
stormnigel Sat 21-Oct-17 18:38:32

I have made a stew. It is windy and autumnal outside. I’ve got some wine. I decree that this is the evening to light my first fire in my new house... for maximum seasonal battening down of the hatches....
I have logs, firelighters, kindling and some
Old newspaper...And no idea how to do it.
What goes on first? Are you meant to put the logs in a pyramid shape?

Cokeis Sat 21-Oct-17 18:40:42

Roll the paper from corner to corner into a sausage and wind around your fingers to make a paper nugget with a tail sticking up.

Kindling.

The logs and a little coal.

Light paper nugget and as if magic fire

LonginesPrime Sat 21-Oct-17 18:47:06

I’m no expert and I’m sure someone who is will be along shortly.

But in the meantime, what I’d do is put the logs down at different angles with gaps in between them, pop the firefighter in the middle and build a little pyre out of the kindling around the firefighter. I would also arrange some of the bigger bits of kindling so they touch the pyre and run under some of the logs (so the fire will burn under the logs and eventually catch).

Maybe put screwed up newspaper in the gaps once the pyre is burning?

IJustLostTheGame Sat 21-Oct-17 18:48:26

Make some spillers put of newspaper. You concertina fold them until they are long and thin and a bit stick like. I make a bunch at a time.
Roll newspaper diagonally and make croissant shapes out of them and bung a bunch into the grate.
Bung on a teepee shape of kindling and some bigger pieces, maybe one log depending how big your grate is.
Light the spiller and with the lit end light as many bits of newspaper as you can and watch it take.

Unless you have a burner they are easier. Bung in firelighters, Bung on kindling, Bung on a log. Open the vents.