Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

How do you stop envy and enjoy what you have?

(71 Posts)
wejammin Wed 18-Oct-17 16:54:52

I think I need a slap and a good shake.

I am currently struggling because I keep seeing the financial successes of my peers and feeling an overwhelming jealousy, wanting what they have.

I have a very demanding, very stressful, but relatively low paid job (high 20ks). I'm a lawyer but I chose a field that is legally aided because I was (usually still am, depending on the day!) passionate about access to justice for all and fighting for those who need help. Sadly it means that a lot of my peers, who I went to uni and trained with, who went into corporate life, have wealth way beyond what I will ever achieve in this field.

Equally my DH, who is very clever, is also a lawyer but he is pretty laid back and not very ambitious, so he has been coasting in a lower paid area for a few years, as it is low stress and easy for him, and he can work flexible hours.

A few of my school friends went into medicine and are currently buying huge houses and holidaying all over the place.

I think my big inner struggle comes from the fact that, at school, I was (trying not to be braggy here) really clever, worked really hard and went to a top uni. At uni and post grad again I did really well. I think I'm finding it hard to be told since the age of 7 that you are above average, and then feel overtaken by everyone who was "average" (and I don't mean that badly, these are all lovely people).