Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Career advice from a chartered accountant?

(16 Posts)
mishfish Tue 17-Oct-17 20:38:35

Hello

Thanks for reading.

I had my children relatively young due to illness and disability when I was younger and always promised myself that my 30s would be about developing my career

I'm a certified bookkeeper and have. Few private clients whilst also studying the AAT qualification. I'm nearly finished with level 3 and will be moving straight onto the professional diploma and was hoping to after move onto CIPFA or similar. My thoughts were to complete as much study as possible before beginning to look to return to employment in roughly around 3 years when my youngest will be eligible for the 30 hours "free" childcare.

I'm looking at jobs online and I'm noticing that a lot of the chartered accountancy roles (including more junior ones) require a candidate to be degree educated.

Will I struggle to break a certain barrier without a degree? Realistically would I be better off getting a degree before returning to the work place with my AAT diploma or do I stick to my original plan?

Many thanks

mishfish Tue 17-Oct-17 20:41:35

Sorry for horrific post- smashed screen and steam from the bath is making the keypad play up!

mishfish Tue 17-Oct-17 20:42:33

PPS- also acknowledge that I wouldn't be charged until I've completed the relevant experience in the workplace!

WishingCarrot Tue 17-Oct-17 20:46:49

I’m an FCA.

More and more larger firms are taking school leavers rather than graduates. Look into entrance criteria of the top 10.

If they’re prepared to take school leavers with no prior work exp I’m sure they’d jump at the chance to take an older person w/o degree.

ClashCityRocker Tue 17-Oct-17 20:50:11

I'm an ACA and CTA.