Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

can anyone help me get started with an iphone 5s?

(24 Posts)
ssd Tue 17-Oct-17 12:54:51

I want to start using ds's old iphone 5s but I honestly have no clue

at present I have an 8 yr old nokia that doesnt do anything but text or call

his old phone is lying in his room and I want to use it

it has no sim and is now not on a contract

I dont want all his details on it, its probably full of teenage boy stuff

how do I wipe it clean and use it for myself?

please any advice would be great, baby steps for a complete beginner

I've asked ds but he cant believe his mum has utterly no clue.....

ssd Tue 17-Oct-17 13:26:07

bump

LapdanceShoeshine Tue 17-Oct-17 13:30:34

Is it locked to a network? If it is, get it unlocked (previous network will do that I think).

Then get a giffgaff sim, they're very cheap.

To clear it down there's a factory reset option. I have done this but forget how - bear with me!

LapdanceShoeshine Tue 17-Oct-17 13:32:33

To reset go into Settings then General & right at the bottom is reset. (You might need to borrow his sim & put it back in first.)

Good luck! smile

theymademejoin Tue 17-Oct-17 13:33:50

If it was on contract, you may need to get it unlocked. He needs to contact the provider to get them to do that. You also need to restore to factory settings (Settings, General, Reset, Erase all content and settings) but make sure he has copied over everything he needs to the new phone first. You need to get a new sim card for it. Go to your provider and ask them to do that. They should be able to do everything for you, including telling you how to transfer your number.

LapdanceShoeshine Tue 17-Oct-17 13:35:31

I'm assuming he already backed everything up to iCloud & reinstalled it on his new phone?

www.google.co.uk/amp/www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/iphone/how-reset-iphone-or-ipad-factory-settings-3596892/%3famp