Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Can I cut my shopping to £70 a week??

(35 Posts)
BubblesBubblesBubbles Sun 24-Sep-17 14:42:38

Currently spending around £150 a week on 2 adults and 2 children. I would like to half this. As it seems stupidly high. Dog/cat food is not included. Cleaning and washing products are.

I shop at home bargains, asda, occasionally Tesco, and Lidl.

I seriously need to cut back. I just seem to waste money. I want to get out of my over draft and start some extra savings for the house move and cost of decorating.

One big change I've made is stopping take aways - we now do the m&s £10 meal deal every other Friday (rather than a takeaway every Friday)

My meal planning is a bit lax as I've started working extra hours at work (I know this needs to change)

Any tips/meal ideas?? I am actually a good cook but have limited time on an evening to get food prepared. I do have a slow cooker which I have dug out the cupboard.

Meow34 Sun 24-Sep-17 14:43:51

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Meow34 Sun 24-Sep-17 14:44:32

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

amusedbush Sun 24-Sep-17 14:46:43

I shop for DH and I for around £35 a week, including dog food, meat, fresh fruit and veg, etc.

I shop at Tesco. I meal plan every week and I stick to my list - no being tempted by deals and treats! Breakfast is always porridge or eggs, lunch is homemade soup or pasta salad and dinner is some sort of meat and veg/salad. I snack on fruit or yoghurts - whatever ones are on an offer that week.

bec3105 Sun 24-Sep-17 14:47:27

Our shopping bill is £55-£60 a week, two adults, 3 children (17,13 and 11) and 2 cats.

I meal plan every week then make a list of things needed to make those meals. I have my shopping delivered online as makes it easier to keep cost down and stick to the meal plan and list.

DelurkingAJ Sun 24-Sep-17 14:47:52