Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

So worecester sauce isn't vegetarian

(36 Posts)
MrsA2015 Sat 23-Sep-17 20:39:39

Just watching Jamie olives on good food at lea perrins factory. They put anchovies in it!

ShirleyPhallus Sat 23-Sep-17 20:40:29

Yeah it's got anchovies in it. Bloody delicious and savoury

MrsPnut Sat 23-Sep-17 20:40:42

Henderson’s relish is far superior and it is vegetarian.

treaclesoda Sat 23-Sep-17 20:41:29

I thought anchovies were pretty much the sole ingredient, not just something they put in it.

SuburbanRhonda Sat 23-Sep-17 20:41:30

No, but Henderson's Relish is suitable for vegetarians and is a delicious alternative.

MrsA2015 Sat 23-Sep-17 20:43:25

I've been clueless till now! I love it though so doesn't bother me none. I was impressed at the other ingredients in it, tamarind to name one

Fannylodger Sat 23-Sep-17 20:44:08

There are lots of things you wouldn't think are unsuitable but are.
Lots of desserts, pink yoghurts etc.
I find shellfish/crustacean, gelatin and cochineal to be the worst culprits.

LegoCaltrops Sat 23-Sep-17 20:44:52

Don't you read the ingredients on things?

Howlandbreathe Sat 23-Sep-17 20:49:24

< shrug > so what ?

If you are a vegetarian or vegan it someone with specific dietary requirements you would know this... if you weren't or can't be bothered to read the ingredients; why would you be bothered ?

MrsA2015 Sat 23-Sep-17 20:51:56

I didn't say I was bothered I was just pleasantly surprised, as in I'd never have guessed anchovies were in it.

treaclesoda Sat 23-Sep-17 20:53:46

MrsA I do know what you mean actually. I think anchovies are one of those things that people often instinctively think they don't like, so they're surprised to find them in a product that they do like.

Greenandcabbagelooking Sat 23-Sep-17 20:55:15

Mushroom ketchup is also a good vegetarian alternative.

MrsA2015 Sat 23-Sep-17 20:55:17

Yes treacle that was my initial reaction as I don't like strong fish flavour and I always associate anchovies with my dad who loves them on pizza envy

tectonicplates Sat 23-Sep-17 20:56:01

You can buy vegetarian versions from a few of health food brands.

Topseyt Sat 23-Sep-17 20:59:18

Yes, I knew this. It is based on anchovies.

Other things that people are often surprised to learn are not suitable for vegetarians are some hard cheeses such as Parmesan and Grana Padano. They contain calf rennet. Sweets containing gelatin are also not vegetarian friendly as it is a beef product.

Howlandbreathe Sat 23-Sep-17 21:00:50

And bollinger grin

MessedUpWheelieBin Sat 23-Sep-17 21:22:50

Chippa Worcester sauce is vegetarian - Asda and Morrisons £1.27/9
often veg ones are on gluten free shelves in supermarkets.

Ozzde Sat 23-Sep-17 21:25:23

As vegan I know this but mushroom ketchup or marmite are lovely flavourings through food.

MargaretTwatyer Sat 23-Sep-17 21:26:39

Hendersons relish is veggie and it's also much nicer.

Ozzde Sat 23-Sep-17 21:27:38

On the subject of fish look up isinglass in lots of wines

MargaretTwatyer Sat 23-Sep-17 21:29:25

hendersonsrelish.com

Veggie. Local and family owned small business. Much better that supporting Kraft. Do a lot in the local community too.

MrsA2015 Sat 23-Sep-17 21:36:12

Will be checking out hendersons due to good reviews!

SuburbanRhonda Sun 24-Sep-17 10:59:27

On the subject of fish look up isinglass in lots of wines

Ocado lists wines as vegetarian or not. Plus they do amazing 50% off offers!

HidingBehindTheWallpaper Sun 24-Sep-17 11:01:36

The problem with Henderson’s Relish is trying to get hold of it in the south.

Sukitakeitoff Sun 24-Sep-17 11:02:06

I pointed this out once to a vegetarian who was about to put some on her lunch. She had no idea!

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now