Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Where to buy a website name from? How to host a website?

(17 Posts)
OceanWaving Fri 22-Sep-17 18:04:36

I am a complete novice and looking to start a website for information. The names I want don't exist as .com page or .co.uk which is good.

How do I go about securing the webname/buying it from someone? Also any suggestions for serverscompanies that you can build your website with?

RoganJosh Fri 22-Sep-17 18:06:01

I buy domains and hosting through vidahost.

RoganJosh Fri 22-Sep-17 18:07:18

Or depending on my mood I check for availability through www.123-reg.co.uk/

OceanWaving Fri 22-Sep-17 18:12:46

Thanks will have a look. The names I am thinking of come up as "server not found" and one came up with a seller site for $1995! Not what I was thinking! What is a normal kind of price to pay for something? I know that's a how long is a piece of strong question?

humblesims Fri 22-Sep-17 18:14:10

I find 123reg pretty good.

RhythmNBooze Fri 22-Sep-17 18:35:15

I use one.com

silkpyjamasallday Fri 22-Sep-17 18:44:12

I've used go daddy in the past and they have been great

HerBigChance Fri 22-Sep-17 18:50:52

1and1 are good, have used them for domains for years. You can use a WordPress site and map the domain to it.

orlantina Fri 22-Sep-17 18:58:32

123 reg are very good.

You can buy your name from them and they can host a website as well. I've used them for 10 years. (I have 5 websites at the moment. As you do)

orlantina Fri 22-Sep-17 18:59:59

What is a normal kind of price to pay for something

£5 to £20 to buy the name for the year. Depending on the suffix.

Hosting a single site is very cheap.

austenozzy Fri 22-Sep-17 19:06:09

1&1 aren't all that. I use 123-reg for domains but not hosting. Best hosting I've used in recent years is siteground but quite a margin. I'm moving all my customers across over time. (Web developer)

EllieMentry Fri 22-Sep-17 19:20:38