Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

What did you do to raise a A/A* DC?

(205 Posts)
Sunbittern Thu 24-Aug-17 12:43:55

I'd like to know how people end up with DC who do so well in school.

I have a 20 month old and want to set her up for a future of success knowing that she already has barriers in her way (lone parent, low income family).

I was mostly a C student at school and I never really tried hard until I did my degree.

How can I ensure that DD does well academically? What did you do to raise a genius?

shivermytimbers Thu 24-Aug-17 12:47:15

To be honest, most of the research I've looked at shows a correlation between family income and cultural background (middle/ upper class) and high achievement in exams. There are a few exceptions but basically that's what seems to be the link.

ImperialBlether Thu 24-Aug-17 12:47:16

Watch TV but turn it off when the programme ends. Watch films and discuss them - even when they're little. Same with books. Talk about the news. Play games a lot - especially ones involving memory, numbers etc. Talk about how other people live around the world. Don't indulge them in every whim. Allow them solitude - thinking time - before bed.

ImperialBlether Thu 24-Aug-17 12:48:26

I brought my two up on my own from when they were in junior school.

Their dad backed me up and I backed him up - I think that makes a difference.

VanillaDrunkenSailor Thu 24-Aug-17 12:48:33

I take them to lots of stately homes grin

PaintingByNumbers Thu 24-Aug-17 12:50:12

Be clever, have kids with someone clever, either be richer than the norm for your area or be apart from the norm in your area eg an immigrant

RatherBeRiding Thu 24-Aug-17 12:50:50