Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Any investment bankers? Need careers advice

(3 Posts)
wanttobeabanker Mon 21-Aug-17 10:32:02

Hi, I'm currently a Psychology student going in to my second year and interested in a career in Investment Banking.

I go to a no target, no Russell group university. I think its around 30th in the league tables and I got in on an access course in Science. I'm also 25 years old, with a 20 month old (if that's relevant at all).

How can I get in to investment banking?

Where do I start? Reading The Economist and The Financial Times to keep up with the economy. Anything else?

What about extra curriculars at university? There is a Trading & Investment Society that I could join, maybe I could run for Marketing Officer. Also this society runs a portfolio management course, advanced excel training and a Bloomberg training course. Worth doing?

Should I join any other societies or sports clubs and try to become captain?

As I don't have great A levels (DDE) but a good pass on my Access course, should I try and aim for a first on my Psychology degree, I believe I'm capable of getting a first. I received a high 2:1 in my first year.

Would I be taking the right steps to enter into IB? smile

wanttobeabanker Mon 21-Aug-17 10:32:43

non-target, non Russell group that should say

Cantseethewoods Mon 21-Aug-17 11:49:10

Why do you want to be an investment banker, other than the cash, and which particular area interests you - trading, broking/research, sales, corporate finance etc?