Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

If you love a Song of Ice and Fire....

(26 Posts)
DilbyGlipob Fri 21-Apr-17 18:42:11

Will you be watching the next series of Game of Thrones? I've loved the series, but I really don't want to get ahead of the books. I'm not sure if i can hold out for another 10 years, or however long it's going to take him to finish them though...

LadyDeadpool Fri 21-Apr-17 18:46:56

I will, I think that in the end they will both be different stories so I can watch the lite version then if it ever happens read the real version although I honestly don't think we'll ever get to read ADoS.

EdmundCleverClogs Fri 21-Apr-17 18:47:10

I will be. It's gone beyond avoiding now, G R R Martin is the laziest bloody writer on the planet. I actually doubt he'll finish the story. I think there's enough in the books up to now to figure out the ending regardless, in my opinion. Plus, I need to see if they can visually top last season, it was jaw-droppingly amazing tv at times (even if you don't appreciate the story).

Euphemia Fri 21-Apr-17 18:47:56

I can't be arsed waiting until he finishes the books.

Apanicaday Fri 21-Apr-17 18:49:00

I'm going to be watching. I would much rather read the books first, but like others have said, I don't reckon they will ever be finished.

EdmundCleverClogs Fri 21-Apr-17 18:49:26

Do you watch iZombie, OP? One of my favourite bits grin.

youtu.be/QpNFqg99dwo

BeeFarseer Fri 21-Apr-17 18:51:00

I'm definitely watching it. The show's diverged enough from the books that it has a completely different feel to it, if that makes sense.

Plus I agree with LadyDeadpool, I don't think GRRM will survive to write ADoS. I need some form of resolution, so I'll take it any way I can.

Ftumch Fri 21-Apr-17 18:52:05

I'm going to watch it, thdeyve already overtaken the books in the last series anyway! I'm not sure I'll bother with the book if it ever arrives though, spoilers for books are worse than TV spoilers for me.

ilovetocook Fri 21-Apr-17 18:52:44

I love the books, read them multiple times. Its frustrating how long its been though. I have only seen a couple of episodes of the tv show but really want to watch them all.

MirriMazDuur Fri 21-Apr-17 19:00:32

The last series went ahead of the books.

DilbyGlipob Fri 21-Apr-17 19:03:29

Haha Edmund, that's exactly it.

I was starting to get the fear a bit at the end of the last series when it started to overtake the books. I've read them a few times now too and i was adamant that was how i was going to find out the ending. I was a bit surprised that he allowed it to happen to be honest, he obviously knows what's going to happen, be just needs to get the bloody thing written down.

I went to see him speak a couple of years ago and he and Robin Hobb were talking about readers who feel like they're entitled to demand the next installment. I felt a little bit guilty, but actually i do feel like we're 'owed' in a way - we've embraced his world and characters and invested in the story, i think it's​ a matter of courtesy to let us know what happens to them.

ElspethFlashman Fri 21-Apr-17 19:07:53

I actually prefer the TV series to the books nowadays.

Obviously there are changes I find distasteful (Sandra/Ramsey) but at least it rattles along at a fairly good clip.

I honestly thought I'd never get to the end of Dance With Dragons. I ploughed through it, only to realise that fuck all had happened. hmm

ElspethFlashman Fri 21-Apr-17 19:09:11

Lol at "Sandra". My phone clearly doesn't approve of fancy names.

EdmundCleverClogs Fri 21-Apr-17 19:14:52

Has anyone here read The Wheel of Time series? It's completed (though a huge series and the author did die before he finished it himself). I'm only on book 3 but have found it just as intriguing as GoT. Less incest so far as well, which is always a plus...

Paffle Fri 21-Apr-17 19:16:13

Edmund I'm also on book 3 of WOT. Hard going but can't stop if that makes sense.

strawberrypenguin Fri 21-Apr-17 19:22:34

I will. I think it's the only way I'm going to get an end to the story. I don't think he'll ever finish them. It's been 5 years since the last book was published.

DilbyGlipob Fri 21-Apr-17 19:24:15

I've not heard of that, I'll give it a go. I like the idea of a saga that's finished - I'm getting fed up with waiting years to find out the end of a story nods to BeeFarseer.

ShamefulDodger Fri 21-Apr-17 19:24:18

Game of Thrones is an anomaly for me.

I love the to series, snored through the books.

It usually never happens that way around!

ElspethFlashman Fri 21-Apr-17 19:32:49

Everybody, definitely check out the First Law series by Joe Abercrombie.

It's a trilogy, easily devourable. Best of all he's pretty prolific and has released several other books set in that fantasy country/universe/what have you since.

Much tighter plotting as well. But similar in lots of ways. Some great dark fucked up antiheroes who you shouldn't be rooting for, but do.

ElspethFlashman Fri 21-Apr-17 19:35:15

This is the first one:

www.amazon.co.uk/Blade-Itself-Book-First-Gollancz/dp/0575079797?tag=mumsnetforum-21

have read all of the wheel of time books, it's a great series and is at least finished unlike ASOIAF. still, 14 books and a prequel to get through, if you are so inclined!

Lessstressedhemum Fri 21-Apr-17 19:40:08

Wheel of time is awesome. It can be slow going and it's a bit difficult to get used to the change of style when Brandyn Sanders takes over but who doesn't want to be firmly ravished by Lan? I started reading it in 1990, when it began and yes, there was always a wait for the next installment, but GRRM takes the cake.

DilbyGlipob Fri 21-Apr-17 19:44:32

Thanks Elspeth, I've just bought that one. Now to put D's to bed. Wheel of time series is on the wish list smile

EsmesBees Fri 21-Apr-17 19:48:47

I also can't be bothered to wait so will be watching. I don't think he's ever going to finish them, sadly.

twattymctwatterson Fri 21-Apr-17 19:50:49

I've made my peace with the realisation that GRRM is never going to finish the books

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now