Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Christmas Day, DH's family dilemma

(27 Posts)
McDougal Mon 23-Oct-17 18:39:58

I’m hoping that the wise Christmas mavens of MN can help settle a difference of opinion between DH and I.

We have recently moved closer to DH’s family. They have visited us a lot more since and vice versa which has been great and wonderful for DD as she gets to see family more often.

To the dilemma: since moving, there has been talk of Christmas and we, somehow, arrived at the decision that we would host his family plus my DF (12 people!). I was absolutely fine with this but have had some concerns about money (I’m currently a ft student) and the practicalities of where everyone will sit etc etc.

Today, I mentioned my hope that people might offer to contribute (bring a course, prepare one of the meats or something) and DH said that he doesn’t feel comfortable asking his family for anything. He thinks it will be easier for us and DD to have the day together and then have his family around on Christmas evening for a few drinks, party food rather than the stress of Christmas dinner.

I don’t know what to do! A less stressful Christmas does sound good but it would be nice to have a proper family Christmas.

Can anyone with any similar experience give me their view? blush at the essay this turned out to be!

MrsMotherHen Mon 23-Oct-17 18:59:31

I am hosting this year although only for 8. Am on Mat leave so we have a low income.

Start buying now! few weeks ago i got the chocolates got 4 boxes then a few treat size bags of chocs.

Week after I got the mince pies (didnt think to check the date will do that later) turkish delight and nibbly cracker bite things.

This week i got 6 bottles of wine from aldi online for £23 really highly rated ones aswell. Free delivery too they came today.