Talk

Advanced search

Prepare ahead veg- an idiot'guide...

(16 Posts)
Methenyouplus4 Sun 28-Aug-16 08:04:07

I'm a competent cook and the past two years have cooked for about 12 at our house (DH does meats, I sort all the other stuff). As DC get older (no longer tiny oblivious babies), I want to spend less time in the kitchen. So...

What do you prepare ahead and how? Last year I made and froze Yorkshire Puddings which weren't as 'fresh'/crispy tasting but not a huge difference by the time they were covered in gravy. I often read about people doing roast potatoes etc in advance but how? Do you fully roast then freeze or just par boil then freeze? How long do you then cook them for if frozen? Do they not go soggy? What do you store them in in the freezer? Ha! I really need an idiots guide!

TalkingSheds Sun 28-Aug-16 08:07:01

I par boil for 7 minutes, then fluff up in a colander, sprinkle with flour and allow to cool spread out on a baking tray. Then I freeze them like that on the baking tray. Once frozen I bag them up.
On the day, roast from frozen for about 45 minutes.

Methenyouplus4 Sun 28-Aug-16 08:18:44

Talking- thank you. Do you just use plain flour, how long can you keep them in the freezer for and would you add any glaze to veg before/after freezing (e.g. honey on parsnips)?

TalkingSheds Sun 28-Aug-16 08:43:30

Yes plain flour. I usually do the potatoes in November. I've not done veg before so no idea sorry.

Methenyouplus4 Sun 28-Aug-16 08:45:49

Thank you. I have taken a screens hot to remind me.

purpleladybird Sun 28-Aug-16 09:13:46