Talk

Advanced search

Christmassy days out in the South East

(17 Posts)
KitKat1985 Mon 23-Nov-15 11:15:51

Hello all. Am off work next week and would like to try and have one special family day out, and take DH and DD (who will be nearly 15 months) to do something Christmassy (mainly because I love Christmas)! grin I have limited funds (definitely under £50) but we won't get many other chances as I normally work weekends, and I'm working quite a bit Christmas and New Year weeks (I'm a nurse). So does anyone have any great ideas for a child DD's age. Realistically it needs to be within a 2 hour commute from our home in East Sussex. At the moment I'm thinking maybe Drusillas Christmas event? I did also contemplate getting a train into London and going into Hyde park winter wonderland but I worry that it will have limited appeal to a child as young as DD, and it'll be quite expensive to get trains etc. Any other ideas?

herecomesthsun Mon 23-Nov-15 12:23:41

winchester is lovely with a xmas market that will be open, you could watch the ice rink with some hot chocolate maybe, parking is a bugger but prob better in november, the cathedral cafe is good and has changing facilities

xmas market

Alternatively

marwellzoo

Jenijena Mon 23-Nov-15 12:25:20

Winchester's park and ride is very good, if that tempts you as a destination.

KitKat1985 Mon 23-Nov-15 12:37:27

Oh okay great thanks, I'll have a look. xx

herecomesthsun Mon 23-Nov-15 13:13:51

just thinking, this might be 29th Nov- 5th Dec

In the New forest there is

carols here at 5pm on 5th Dec, £4 adults, free to small kids, we might go!

also there are christmas lights being switched on in the New Forest villages that week, but this is even more of an an early evening thing?

KitKat1985 Mon 23-Nov-15 19:03:04

Thank you herecomes. I'm also considering taking a train into London and just letting DD loose in Hamleys. grin

herecomesthsun Mon 23-Nov-15 19:07:35