Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

dslr camera?

(16 Posts)
ItsaTenfromDen Sun 01-Nov-15 13:50:50

OH has expressed an interest in maybe having a camera for christmas. I have no idea about these neither has he so can anyone recommed one for a complete beginner?

Thanks

WhoTheFuckIsSimon Sun 01-Nov-15 18:17:51

What's your budget?

I recently bought dd a Nikon d3200 which is a classic beginners dslr.

However is it definitely a dslr he wants? Mirrorless/compact system cameras are taking over from dslrs. They're much smaller and lighter, but you can change the lenses and the photo quality is fantastic. Comparable with a dslr for sure. Lots of semi pro photographers I know are ditching their dslr.

Ive got a sony a6000 and it's amazing. You can get cheaper ones which are still good. Dd often pinches my camera rather than lug her Nikon about.

GloGirl Sun 01-Nov-15 19:20:28

I have the same camera as Simon, it's a great beginners DSLR.

The Lumix is a great compact.

ItsaTenfromDen Tue 03-Nov-15 15:26:05

thank you both, I shall have a google and read up

JeffreysMummyIsCross Tue 03-Nov-15 15:34:54

I have the Nikon D5200 which is also very suitable for beginners. It's a little larger than the 3000 range cameras, and it would be worth actually getting you DH to try them out as some people have a preference for one size over another depending (my DH actually finds my camera too small to grip comfortably and has the D7200 which is larger still.)

AnotherEmma Tue 03-Nov-15 15:41:20

I'm a beginner and got a Canon 100D which I love. It's a DSLR but very small and light. Takes fab pictures.

Before getting the camera I went on a one-day introduction to digital photography course, which was brilliant. I learnt so much and it meant I was able to buy and use my camera with confidence. So could you organise something similar for your DH?

Wombat87 Tue 03-Nov-15 15:44:36