Talk

Advanced search

Cooking Christmas Dinner for 10 adults + 3 Kids...

(15 Posts)
thepartysover Thu 04-Dec-14 10:39:30

...and starting to panic a bit. I'm a competent cook at any other time but the large numbers are scaring me! Figured a 6-8kg turkey would be enough for everyone (plus leftovers). Does anyone have a failsafe "plan" for timings etc? What can I reasonably do the day before? Also any recipes for how to make vegetables more interesting very welcome.

Thanks!

notasausage Thu 04-Dec-14 10:55:48

I've done this for the last few years and it has gone well, though I wouldn't necessarily describe myself as a roast dinner sort of cook. My biggest tip is not to have Christmas dinner until about 4pm as this lets you be with the kids and opening presents rather than being tied to the kitchen. I do bacon butties for a light lunch. Prep all your veg the night before. Put potatoes in water in the fridge. Pigs in blankets/stuffing balls can be made and frozen weeks in advance. Red cabbage can also be made and frozen. Work out all your timings and write them down, working backwards from when you want to eat. If you don't have a double oven, start your roast potatoes while the turkey is cooking then increase your temp to crisp them when you take the turkey out to rest.

Accept all help offered, especially someone to do the washing up and keep things cleared while you cook!

Christmas music and wine!

thepartysover Thu 04-Dec-14 11:10:42

notasausage This actually sounds quite calm... thank you!

BiddyPop Thu 04-Dec-14 11:59:09

Most magazines (Prima, Good Housekeeping, Good Food etc) will have a "timings" and recipes for Christmas Day in the December issue. (I don't have to sit at any particular time, so we just work away as it comes here - but we are only 3 people).

In advance and frozen:
Definitely at least make breadcrumbs for stuffing, if not the entire stuffing itself.
If you want soup for starter, that can be made now and frozen too.