Talk

Advanced search

Present ideas for my 13 year old son

(14 Posts)
Julius85 Fri 19-Oct-12 12:08:27

Hi everyone, this is my first post.

I have a 13 year old son and I would really like to get him into science. (As you can imagine, I am an engineer myself wink)

Does anyone have any good ideas for toys or toy sets that I could buy that might help inspire him? I'd prefer to get him away from video games, so no apps or computer programs, please!

In terms of price, I'm flexible, but I was thinking around the £30 - £40 mark.

Thanks in advance for your replies!

Julius

lljkk Fri 19-Oct-12 12:31:41

What about a subscription to Flipside?

bruffin Fri 19-Oct-12 12:36:53

If your a member of IET you will get a discount for Flipside.

lljkk Fri 19-Oct-12 12:52:14

If you had bigger budget I might suggest something about Lego Mindstorms, maybe not so dear on Ebay.

You really need to build some circuits together. Although my nearly 13yo has quite enjoyed sewing things of late (not girly lad at all, btw). But flags, rocketships, cool capes, he likes. I am making him a patchwork quilt, too, with skulls & crossbones on it.

He is working on a texturepack for Mortal Engines, too.

busymummy3 Sat 20-Oct-12 00:08:46

Sorry but 13 years old and Toys albeit engineering type toys do not go together well - I have a 13 year old DS and can just picture his face if he was given Lego ?

bruffin Sat 20-Oct-12 00:20:12

Busymummy Mindstorms is not ordinary Lego.It is aimed at 12+ . You programme the control block using a PC although latest version I think you can also use a mobile as a remote control.
Look on YouTube for some of the projects, they are amazing.

busymummy3 Sat 20-Oct-12 00:32:04

Thanks Bruffin think I will have a look- as OP says will be good alternative to the standard XBox games etc

Aspiemum2 Sat 20-Oct-12 00:37:08