Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Cake

(7 Posts)
supadupapupascupa Sun 04-Sep-11 16:34:30

I quite fancy making my own this year, which i have never done before.

So apart from finding a recipe and a tin, when should I get started? What do I need to know? What are the steps?

TIA

OracleInaCoracle Sun 04-Sep-11 16:42:55

Hi, I made my first one last year. You need to get fruit soaking soon, I put mine in a large bowl with a load of brandy and a couple of cinnamon sticks, a tea towel over the top and kept feeding it. I made the cake and pudding at the beginning of november.

OracleInaCoracle Sun 04-Sep-11 16:42:57

Hi, I made my first one last year. You need to get fruit soaking soon, I put mine in a large bowl with a load of brandy and a couple of cinnamon sticks, a tea towel over the top and kept feeding it. I made the cake and pudding at the beginning of november.

supadupapupascupa Sun 04-Sep-11 20:32:45

Really!!!! Blimey, best get moving then!

RhinestoneCowgirl Sun 04-Sep-11 20:36:50

I usually make mine in October half term because my mum always used to!

I only soak the fruit overnight before making. Think I found the recipe online years ago (mine has black treacle and marmelade in)

OracleInaCoracle Sun 04-Sep-11 21:03:38

The recipes are so specific aren't they? Mine is my mil's nans recipe, it makes 4 cakes in total and I made them with my niece and nephew as well as ds. I used to make cakes and puds with my cousins at nans when we were little. It was a part of our christmas tradition!

OracleInaCoracle Sun 04-Sep-11 21:03:41

The recipes are so specific aren't they? Mine is my mil's nans recipe, it makes 4 cakes in total and I made them with my niece and nephew as well as ds. I used to make cakes and puds with my cousins at nans when we were little. It was a part of our christmas tradition!

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.