Talk

Advanced search

I'll be a mum to 2 at 19 (and DM a grandma to 2 in her 30s) AMA

(99 Posts)
qwertyq Sun 30-Jun-19 19:22:24

We get a lot of weird comments (some very positive, some judgey), so if it's of any interest, AMA!

sniffingthewax Wed 30-Oct-19 08:11:15

I had 3 before 23 but was married, DP had a good job and we had a home in a naice area and I think to a certain extent that warded off comments from people. I'm now nearly 40, (still married) have degree and masters and I find I'm much more conscious of comments now than I was then. Eldest dc is starting uni and there's always a 'you must have started young!' comment said with horror/shock whenever it's mentioned.
My dc have been the best thing that has happened to me, we haven't missed out because I was young, we have travelled extensively, dc in grammar schools so hopefully their educational prospects will be good, but my career path is non existent. I did a degree with OU along the way and a part time masters but as dc3 has SEN I have never been able to work. I have quite an extensive voluntary resume but zero paid employment which means that most likely I will have to start job seeking an entry level job in my 40's which is very depressing.

Owlsintowels Tue 15-Oct-19 09:30:19

www.google.com/amp/s/www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/rape-victims-child-benefits-women-dwp-universal-credit-work-pensions-support-a8421086.html%3famp

Owlsintowels Tue 15-Oct-19 09:28:04

@JoanMavisIcecreamGirl
@Baritriwsahys
Gov rules have changed, you only get child benefit for your first two children now.
Exceptions are if second pregnancy is multiple or if a third pregnancy is due to rape. I don't know details but I think you have to prove rape somehow, or at least sign a statement.

There was a pretty big fuss when the rape clause came in, did you not hear about it?