Talk

Advanced search

I'm a Teacher in a Pupil Referral Unit. Ama

(111 Posts)
teachandsleep Sun 28-Apr-19 17:43:30

Ask me anything. Work with Secondary age children

LittleBlackDot Sun 28-Apr-19 17:46:02

What are three of the most useful strategies you’ve found for reengaging children?

SweetestSugar Sun 28-Apr-19 17:47:31

What percentage of time is it really all about the parents? Do you ever feel that you can do so much 9-3 but then when the students go home your hard work is undone?

teachandsleep Sun 28-Apr-19 17:48:10

A sense of humour, directing the work towards them personally. Relationship building as they hate to then let you down. Doesn't win with them all though!

teachandsleep Sun 28-Apr-19 17:52:23

Sweetestsugar 90% of the time it's down to parenting sadly or trauma or abuse.

MyDcAreMarvel Sun 28-Apr-19 17:56:36

Really, so only 10% disabilities like ASD or ADHD either diagnosed or on pathways. Lumped in with the very small minority of simply poor behaviour with no root cause.
I find that very hard to belive.

MyDcAreMarvel Sun 28-Apr-19 17:56:52

*believe

Mumble29 Sun 28-Apr-19 17:57:20

I've applied for a job as a TA in a similar school for children from primary to secondary school age, what can I expect and how do I best approach dealing with behaviour ect

teachandsleep Sun 28-Apr-19 18:02:49

MyDCareMarvel** we don't have ASD children in our Provision it's not the right set up. In regards to ADHD it does exist but is frequently misdiagnosed.

LittleBlackDot Sun 28-Apr-19 18:03:09

@MyDcAreMarvel who said children with ASD/ADHD are immune from having parental difficulties or experience trauma? The two things aren’t mutually exclusive.

teachandsleep Sun 28-Apr-19 18:04:50

Mumble29 the good thing about it is thT everyday is different you never get bored. You know you make a difference. Some days are bad though and it takes its toll. You have to have a thick skin and think on your feet.

Robotindisguise Sun 28-Apr-19 18:05:07