Read our featured debut authors' top tips for writing


Everyone has a book in them, but how do you go about transforming it into a published work of fiction? We've asked our featured debut authors to come up with their top 10 tips for budding writers.

Brooke Davis - Lost & Found

"Work hard, keep it balanced, listen to Hemingway". Debut author Brooke Davis wrote Lost & Found as a way to help get through the grief of her own mother's death. Here, Brooke shares what she learned while writing the book.

Debbie Howells - The Bones Of You

"Rejection is all part of it. But don't give up". The Bones Of You is a stunning psychological thriller set in an idyllic English village. Here, author Debbie Howells offers budding novelists her advice on writing and how to get started.

The Versions Of Us

Laura Barnett - The Versions Of Us

"Turn off your mobile. Ignore the siren call of dirty dishes. You can load the dishwasher later, but you may not have another chance to write." The Versions of Us follows three different versions of a romance between Cambridge students Jim and Eva, and has been hailed by critics as this year's One Day. 


Carys Bray - A Song For Issy Bradley

"Leave out the bits a reader would skip". Carys Bray's beautiful and heart-breaking debut tells the story of a devoted Mormon family who are struggling with the loss of their youngest daughter, Issy.



Michael Christie - If I Fall If I Die

Michael's remarkable debut novel is a poignant and heartfelt depiction of coming of age. "Find idols, read obsessively, admire them accordingly," he says. "If you can't find somebody to admire among the thousands of utterly brilliant human beings who have performed this art throughout history, then you're definitely deluded."



Claire Kendal - The Book Of You

The Book Of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Claire gives tips on handling rejection and seeing criticism as a gift.



Lottie Moggach - Kiss Me First

Lottie Moggach's debut novel is Kiss Me First. A brilliant and disturbing novel about the trials and limitations of living life online. Fittingly, Lottie warns: "Guard your writing time zealously and do not waste even a minute of it online. Save the Internet as a reward for reaching your target for the day." 



Sally Green - Half Bad

Sally Green didn't start writing until she was 48 and her debut novel Half Bad has since been sold in 45 countries. Sally says:"When describing people, less is more...Hemingway, my favourite short story writer, was renowned for not describing characters. He trusted I'd know what his characters looked like from the way they acted - and I do." 



Paula Daly - Just What Kind of Mother Are You?

Paula Daly's Just What Kind of Mother Are You combines a gripping plotline with a thought-provoking examination of family life. Paula advises: "If you get stuck when writing your novel, try writing down three things that must to go in the next scene for the story to move forward."

Last updated: about 1 month ago