Read our featured debut authors' top tips for writing

debutauthor

Everyone has a book in them, but how do you go about transforming it into a published work of fiction? We've asked our featured debut authors to come up with their top 10 tips for budding writers.


Eve Chase - Black Rabbit Hall

"Don’t ever think about friends reading it. Or worse, your mother." Amongst her tips for aspiring authors, Eve Chase tells us to try and forget the reader. Black Rabbit Hall is a story Eve always wanted to write- about a big old house, where family secrets and untold stories seed in the crumbling stone walls.

 


Brooke Davis - Lost & Found

"Work hard, keep it balanced, listen to Hemingway". Debut author Brooke Davis wrote Lost & Found as a way to help get through the grief of her own mother's death. Here, Brooke shares what she learned while writing the book.


Debbie Howells - The Bones Of You

"Rejection is all part of it. But don't give up". The Bones Of You is a stunning psychological thriller set in an idyllic English village. Here, author Debbie Howells offers budding novelists her advice on writing and how to get started.

The Versions Of Us

Laura Barnett - The Versions Of Us

"Turn off your mobile. Ignore the siren call of dirty dishes. You can load the dishwasher later, but you may not have another chance to write." The Versions of Us follows three different versions of a romance between Cambridge students Jim and Eva, and has been hailed by critics as this year's One Day. 

carys-bray

Carys Bray - A Song For Issy Bradley

"Leave out the bits a reader would skip". Carys Bray's beautiful and heart-breaking debut tells the story of a devoted Mormon family who are struggling with the loss of their youngest daughter, Issy.

 

michael_christie

Michael Christie - If I Fall If I Die

Michael's remarkable debut novel is a poignant and heartfelt depiction of coming of age. "Find idols, read obsessively, admire them accordingly," he says. "If you can't find somebody to admire among the thousands of utterly brilliant human beings who have performed this art throughout history, then you're definitely deluded."

 

clairekendal

Claire Kendal - The Book Of You

The Book Of You is a terrifying psychological thriller about obsession and power, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Before I Go to Sleep. Claire gives tips on handling rejection and seeing criticism as a gift.

 

lottie

Lottie Moggach - Kiss Me First

Lottie Moggach's debut novel is Kiss Me First. A brilliant and disturbing novel about the trials and limitations of living life online. Fittingly, Lottie warns: "Guard your writing time zealously and do not waste even a minute of it online. Save the Internet as a reward for reaching your target for the day." 

 

halfbad

Sally Green - Half Bad

Sally Green didn't start writing until she was 48 and her debut novel Half Bad has since been sold in 45 countries. Sally says:"When describing people, less is more...Hemingway, my favourite short story writer, was renowned for not describing characters. He trusted I'd know what his characters looked like from the way they acted - and I do." 

 

justwhat

Paula Daly - Just What Kind of Mother Are You?

Paula Daly's Just What Kind of Mother Are You combines a gripping plotline with a thought-provoking examination of family life. Paula advises: "If you get stuck when writing your novel, try writing down three things that must to go in the next scene for the story to move forward."

  •  

    clairefurniss

    Clare Furniss - The Year of the Rat

    Clare Furniss' The Year of the Rat has been cited as contender for YA novel of the year - pretty impressive for a debut. Clare advises: "Find other writers to chat to either locally or online. Writing is a solitary business and everyone tends to think you're a little bit mad for doing it. It helps an awful lot to speak to other people with the same passion."  

  • Liked this? Try these...

    Best summer reads in paperback

    July Book of the Month: In the Unlikely Event

    Best ebooks to download this summer

    Last updated: 5 months ago