Book giveaway: The Storms of War by Kate Williams

The Storms of War


The Storms of War is the first novel in a brand new historical trilogy from author, historian and TV presenter Kate Williams.

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Birdsong, it follows the fortunes of a German family living in England from the idyllic days before the outbreak of the First World War, up until 1919.

In the early summer of 1914, life is good for the de Witt family. German Rudolf and his aristocratic English wife Verena are planning the wedding of their daughter, Emmeline, while their eldest son Arthur is studying in Paris and Michael is just back from his first term at Cambridge. Celia, the youngest of the de Witt children, is on the brink of adulthood, and secretly dreams of escaping her carefully mapped out future and exploring the world.

But with the onslaught of war, the de Witts find themselves in danger of losing everything they hold dear. As Celia struggles to make sense of the changing world around her, she lies about her age to join the war effort and finds herself embroiled in a complex plot that puts her and those she loves in danger.

With gripping detail and brilliant empathy, Kate Williams tells the story of Celia and her family as they are shunned by a society that previously embraced them, torn apart by sorrow, and buffeted and changed by the storms of war. 

This giveaway is sponsored by
Orion Books

 

 

 

Kate Williams

About the Author 

Kate Williams is an author, social historian, constitutional and royal expert, broadcaster and novelist. She has an MA from Queen Mary, University of London, and a DPhil from the University of Oxford. She appears regularly on the BBC and Channel 4. She lives in London.

To find out more follow Kate Williams on Twitter or like her Facebook page.  

 

 

Book giveaway

We're giving away 50 copies of The Storms of War. If you receive a free copy we ask that you post a review in our book reviews section or post on the discussion thread.

This giveaway closes 10am, Monday 16 March, so apply now. 

   

  

Last updated: over 1 year ago