Ghostwritten giveaway

GhostwrittenShe listens to everyone else's story, but can she find her own?

Jenni is a ghostwriter - she writes the lives of other people. It's a job that suits her well: still haunted by a childhood tragedy, she finds it easier to take refuge in the memories of others rather than dwell on her own.

Jenni has an exciting new commission, and is delighted to start working on the memoirs of a Dutchwoman, Klara. As a child in the Second World War, Klara was interned in a camp on Java during the Japanese occupation – she has an extraordinary story of survival to tell.

But as Jenni and Klara begin to get to know each other, Jenni begins to do much more than shed light on a neglected part of history. She is being forced to examine her own devastating memories, too. But with Klara's help, perhaps this is finally the moment where she will be able to lay the ghosts of her own past to rest?

Gripping, poignant and beautifully researched, Ghostwritten is a story of survival and love, of memory and hope. Shedding light on a relatively unknown part of WW2 history, this intelligent and moving novel is perfect for fans of Tenko and The Railway Man.

Reviews for Ghostwritten:

This book giveaway is sponsored by Harper Collins

'A brilliant, tender and thought-provoking read.' The Lady

'A poignant story that portrays the suffering of women and children with vivid horror.' Sunday Mirror

'Wonderful, tender and compelling'. Rachel Hore, author of The Silent Tide

'A deeply moving read – I loved it.' Dinah Jeffries, author of The Separation

'Beautifully written, extraordinarily moving – a story that grips from start to finish.' Lesley Downer, author of Across a Bridge of Dreams 

Apply for a copy of Ghostwritten below.

  

Video

Watch a video about the book below.

All efforts have been made to contact the copyright holders of the images in this video. Should someone have cause for complaint please contact fictionmarketing@harpercollins.co.uk

 

Isabel_Wolff

About the author

Isabel Wolff was born in Warwickshire and read English at Cambridge. She is the author of ten other bestselling novels, which are published in 29 languages. She lives in London with her family. 

Visit Isabel's website here, or follow her on Facebook or Twitter.

 

 

 

Giveaway

If you receive a free copy of Ghostwritten, we do expect you to post a review or leave a comment on the discussion thread.

This giveaway closes 10am, Tuesday 24 June, so apply now.

 

Last updated: 17-Jun-2014 at 10:36 AM