Wendy Quill is a Crocodile's Bottom giveaway

Wendy Quill is a CrocodileWendy Quill is a Crocodile's Bottom is the first standalone book in a warm and very funny series about school, friendships and family life, written by Wendy Meddour with illustrations by her daughter Mina May (age 12).

Wendy Quill would love to be a little bit famous, but when she fails to land a lead role in the school production of Peter Pan (even though she is a real-life Wendy) she has to settle on making her theatrical debut as a crocodile's bottom. Fortunately, it's not long before Wendy is dragged along to her best friend Florence's tap-dancing class, where she manages to land a part in The Wizard of Oz thanks to her amazingly sensible shoes, but there is an incident with some face paint, and things don't exactly go to plan.

Wendy finally gets the taste of fame she's been craving when she dresses up for a school project about the plague and has her picture taken for the local paper (but that's all thanks to Kevin, the school rat).

Absolutely jam-packed with Mina May's brilliant illustrations, created using the Brushes programme on her iPad, Wendy Quill is a Crocodile's Bottom is perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Clarice Bean.

What the reviewers think

"A new voice in sassy narrators, Wendy Quill's first book is a little bundle of laughs." Booktrust

Watch a short interview with Wendy and Mina

About the author

Wendy Meddour and Mina MayWendy spent many years teaching English at Oxford University before taking a break from academia to concentrate on her writing. She finds that with a farm in North Africa, a 'wobbly old house' in Wiltshire, four young children and a Berber husband, she's never short on inspiration.

Wendy has previously written and illustrated two books: The Black Cat Detectives and A Hen in the Wardrobe, which has been shortlisted for the 2013 Branford Boase Award. It also won the Islamic Foundation's International Writing Competition and the John C Lawrence Award in 2010 - a national award given to a writer whose work is considered to improve relations between races.

If you receive a copy, we do expect you to post a review or join in the discussion on the thread.

This giveaway is now closed. If you did not receive a free copy you can buy the book here.

 

 

Last updated: 03-Jun-2013 at 10:29 AM