Books

Webchat with Anne Enright

Anne joined us last night for one of the best webchats we've had this year- lively and witty but also insightful, it was a real honour to have her. She was mostly discussing our May Book of the Month The Green Road, which has been nominated for a number of awards, amongst them the Baileys Prize. Read Anne's answers ahead of the award announcement on 8 June.

 


Nina is Not OK by Shappi Khorsandi

Nina is Not OK is a darkly funny, sometimes shocking, coming of age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians, Shappi Khorsandi. It is a brilliant insight into teenage life which will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

June Book of the Month

Drumroll, please! Our Book of the Month for June is Guardian First Book Award winner Petina Gappah's stunning debut novel The Book of Memory. Longlisted for the Baileys Prize, it is a moving story set in Zimbabwe about racial tensions, the unreliability of our memories – and the pain of a childhood cut short.



Top tips for exams

Exam season is stressful for parents and children alike. Author and journalist Matthew Syed joined us for a webchat and shared his top tips for helping children with exams.

Children's book club

Head over to our Children's book club to find all the latest news on the best books for kids of all ages from tiny tots to teens.



Mumsnet Bookfest

Bring the whole family to Mumsnet Bookfest: our one day literary extravaganza, where children can meet their favourite authors and enjoy fabulous interactive shows based on beloved book characters

The Best Baby Books - as recommended by parents

Reading a book with your baby is a special time to bond together – these books are tried and tested by Mumsnetters, perfect for the very youngest of readers



Non-fiction book of the month: The Actual One by Isy Suttie

Our non-fiction book of the month for May is The Actual One, Peep Show and Shameless star Isy Suttie's hilarious account of how she tried and failed to remain twenty-something for ever.

Isy will be answering questions in June so post yours now.

7 things we'd like to say to Shakespearean characters

In honour of Shakespeare's 400th anniversary, Mumsnetters have some sage advice for characters from his plays.



The ultimate bookshelf for three-year-olds

Looking to spice up your little one's bookshelf? Find out which books Mumsnetters recommended as the absolute best for three-year-olds in this fantastic round-up!

5 Books that will change your life

Time for a change? Mumsnetters say these five books, on everything from parenting teens and toddlers to decluttering, will change your life (for the better!)



Book reviews

Not sure what to read next? Have lots to say about a book you've just finished? From fiction to parenting guides, browse the reviews of everything Mumsnetters are reading, or write your own!

Browse our bookshelves

Shelved books

Reading list: Don't know what to read next? Be inspired by our archive of Mumsnet Book of the Month choices. There's a wealth of wonderful novels.



Mumsnet guides

Mumsnet Book of Bedtime Stories

Did you know that in addition to the vast repository of wisdom that is Mumsnet Talk, you can also get some of the best bits in book form? Find out more about our Mumsnet guides, including the Book of Bedtime Stories written by Mumsnetters. 

Local Independent bookshops

the winding stair

Mumsnet Local editors have rounded up the best of the independent bookshops. Check out the list to find great book stores in your area.