Recovery from sexual harassment in work

(93 Posts)
DailyFailAteMyFish Sat 28-May-16 09:29:03

Hi,
Anyone have any books/websites I could read to help recovery from an incident of sexual harassment in work? It was a bit unsavory and has knocked my confidence a bit. I work in a male dominated industry and was on a promotion track. I am so angry with this guy and so angry with myself that a few comments and can have such an impact.

erinaceus Sun 29-May-16 03:58:22

Hi DailyFailAteMyFish

I am sorry to hear that you went through this, and that your confidence was knocked as a result. Did you stay with the same employer?

I am no expert but I would have said that this is something that you would benefit from talking through with a trained professional. Does your employer have an Employee Assistant Program or Occupational Health department? You might find that a few sessions of counselling accessed through one of these could help you to deal with the anger towards yourself and him, and get your previously confident attitude back.

I am an advocate of counselling and other talking-based approaches and know people in my workplace who have used them as well, particularly the EAP about which I have heard good things although I never used it myself. The advantage of the EAP is that it is independent of the employer and your employer never even need to know that you reached out to them for support.

This is my suggestion; beyond that, post here for validation - I believe you. flowers

I think the first thing to do, is try and stop being angry with yourself. You didn't cause this, you didn't invite it, you didn't fail to prevent it by not doing x, y or z. It wasn't your fault, someone decided to treat you badly, and that was entirely, 100%, their fault.