Discrimination by women of women

(58 Posts)
babybarrister Sat 26-Mar-16 18:10:52

Sadly once again a woman indicating that she wants a male lawyer. This time online but it happens regularly and ironically my personal experience has been that it has only been women clients doing this [which FWIW is totally illegal]

Trills Sat 26-Mar-16 20:06:22

Are you a lawyer?

What kind of case is it?

Pointless speculation - is the woman getting a divorce or similar and thinks that her ex does not take women seriously, and so thinks that a male lawyer is the only way to get things done?

babybarrister Sun 27-Mar-16 12:31:02

yes I am a lawyer. I find your comments bizarre. This is not about me touting for work. This is about the fact that even women do not seem to value other women as professionals

Trills Sun 27-Mar-16 12:44:18

Are you reading the same thread as me?

Who has accused you of touting for work?

I was trying to imagine a situation in which a woman might choose a male lawyer, since you gave no information on the situation that you were describing.

babybarrister Sun 27-Mar-16 12:54:28

that is discrimination - end of - no-one is allowed to choose on the basis of gender!

babybarrister Sun 27-Mar-16 12:55:15

yes it is in relation to divorce but that is irrelevant

TonySopranosVest Sun 27-Mar-16 12:58:36

Its illegal to choose your own lawyer?

daisychain01 Sun 27-Mar-16 13:19:54

I thought it would be illegal to advertise for a lawyer "only male lawyers need apply " but where is it written in law that you can't request a male, or female for that matter, to represent you, if you're stumping up the money?

Its like asking for a female Doctor, sometimes it is context based as trills quite rightly mentions.

bigolenerdy Sun 27-Mar-16 13:22:40

It isn't illegal to discriminate based on sex when choosing who provides you with a service. This would be practically impossible to police. How would you really punish the offender?