US state of Arkansas bans abortions after 12 weeks

(10 Posts)

Channel 4 news just tweeted this:

US state of Arkansas has voted to ban abortions beyond 12 weeks of pregnancy, bringing in the most restrictive law in the USA.

Good grief.

stargirl1701 Wed 06-Mar-13 20:38:16

Can a state legislate for that? Isn't it overruled by the federal law? Roe vs Wade? Can someone challenge it in the Supreme Court?

Not sure, I'm just googling.

New York Times report

It seems that it has been enacted into law but will be challenged, probably successfully.

It frightens me that it got this far though - there seems to be a real movement to erode women's rights in the USA recently.

stargirl1701 Wed 06-Mar-13 20:47:40

It's very worrying indeed. I can see the 'right' in the UK beginning tentative steps in this direction too. I can't believe Jeremy Hunt is Secretary of State for Health in England.

Mr. Rapert originally proposed setting the Arkansas ban even earlier, about six weeks after a woman's last menstrual period

shock

Yes, there do seem to be similarities here too. Worrying.

stargirl1701 Wed 06-Mar-13 21:05:31

How many women know they are pregnant at 6 weeks?!

Coffeenowplease Wed 06-Mar-13 21:33:09

They could never enforce that surely ? How would they know when a womans last period was ?

At 6 weeks post last period a pregnancy could be only a couple of weeks !!

Sunnywithshowers Wed 06-Mar-13 21:40:03

6 weeks! Awful sad

KRITIQ Wed 06-Mar-13 23:30:43

Roe vs Wade was a case in the Supreme Court - a legal precedent but not statute, as the Abortion Act 1967 is in the UK. It was won on the basis of right to privacy that a woman had a right, in consultation with her doctor, to have an abortion. But, because of the federal system of laws, it means that responsibility for regulating abortion is devolved to individual states.

For example, some set such stringent requirements for licensing of clinics that it's virtually impossible for any medical facility to comply. They can't say they are banning abortion. Just saying only centres meeting licensing requirements can provide them.

As for a 6 week limit, diagnosis by ultrasound is probably what they would use.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now