"women like us" enterprise to help balance career and family. Feminist?

(5 Posts)
Trekkie Fri 07-Dec-12 22:40:02

I have some experience of this organisation.

I would say that they came about due to a genuine desire to help out with a problem that is fairly widespread and usually ignored - women who are not economically active who consider themselves to be unemployed / underemployed but are not "counted" in govt stats as they are not on unemployment benefits. & so don't get any assistance from that area. Women take a year out on mat leave and then want to go part time and get it refused and do something else and step away from their skills and experience and off the "ladder". Women take a couple of years out and feel that they are totally out of the loop and lose their confidence and struggle. Part time jobs are hard to come by at anything above "entry level" and employers are wary of people with anything out of the norm on their CV. Women who were doing fine before they started their family find they turn a couple of corners and are at a dead end. Things have changed I'm sure with the change in govt and funding and so on so I suspect their remit is much wider now but really their original aim was clear and they are, I'm sure, still heavily focussed on helping women.

Basically originally the point was, why should women who have been highly skilled successful etc have to take entry level jobs if they want to take more than 6 months/ a year off after having a baby, or drop their hours? Why should it be that someone who was very successful for 15 years get all that experience overlooked because of say 3 years out? And have to go and start at the bottom again...
That sort of thing.

And interestingly it mainly came down to confidence, and the loss of it when people are out of the workplace.