private school opportunity

(32 Posts)
waitingforsomething Fri 04-Nov-16 05:39:57

First of all I know this is an extremely first world problem but would like to hear your opinions.
I am a teacher and I have been offered a job in a private school starting next year. With this job offer comes very heavily subsidised school places for my daughter (who will start reception Sep 17) and my son when he reaches reception age (currently a toddler).
Our original plan was to send her and then him to the local state primary, which is good and we would always be happy for her to go.

My WWYD is, would you take up the offer of the places at the private school? My main reservation is should I leave this job, we would not be able to keep up the cost of the school fees and they would have to transfer into state school - this may be very disruptive to their education and friendship group.
My husband thinks we should take the opportunity for them to learn in smaller class sizes/have more resources and I of course would like them to have that opportunity too. He thinks it is worth it even if it is not forever. I do not feel so sure as I worry about having to take them out at some point.

SaltyMyDear Fri 04-Nov-16 05:57:11

You're also forgetting secondary. They'll have to transfer to state for secondary, possibly with none of their friends, and that could also be disruptive for them.

BikeRunSki Fri 04-Nov-16 05:57:46

From a purely practical point of view, of your DC travelling to school with you in the mornings, and having the same holidays, then I would definitely consider it.

If your dd doesn't start until Sept 2017, then I guess you have, or will shortly apply for her state schol place (if in England). When would you have to decide if you are going to send her to the private school? Can you delay until you've had her state school offer, so you can think about which school she'd be must suited to?

BusterGonad Fri 04-Nov-16 05:58:44