Do I ask why I've not been invited?

(8 Posts)
MarchEliza Wed 13-Aug-14 11:38:46

So to cut a long story short – I have a good circle of friends that I went to school/uni with, who I’ve been friends with for about 17 years. For quite a long time we all lived quite near each other and saw each other all of the time, but as we’ve all bought houses, got married, moved for jobs and started families, we have inevitably drifted further apart and so see each other less frequently now.

I work in marketing and spend quite a bit of my time on social media, so at the start of this year, I made the decision to take myself off Facebook as it was doing my head in a bit, and I felt that I lived on it. I didn’t make a flouncy point about this and didn’t make any announcements before disappearing as I didn’t want to seem like an attention-seeking nit-wit.

The direct consequence of this action is that I now never get invited to anything, even the (big group) birthday celebrations of close friends and I feel really hurt and left out when I find out about things after the event.

I mentioned this to one of my friends and she now (really kindly) texts me when something is going on so I can come, however the more paranoid part of my nature makes me feel that I am simply turning up for things that I have not been invited to… And the other part of me feels that these people have my email address and telephone number, so really why can’t they make the effort??

Anyway – the point is I’ve just been told about a birthday do that is taking place this weekend and I don’t know whether to:

a)Just go along and act as if I’ve been invited (it’s nothing formal – just drinks in a pub)
b)Not go along and wait until the year 2029 when someone notices that I am not getting invited to anything (never going to happen)
c)Contact the birthday person and just ask if it would be ok if I came?