Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Kittensmctavish Tue 07-Jan-14 13:01:51

I think you need to get in touch with your defence union

NigellasDealer Tue 07-Jan-14 13:02:52

your boss asks you why you split up?
is that really appropriate?

Kittensmctavish Tue 07-Jan-14 13:03:24

Sorry posted too soon.

Sounds very tricky. Not at all black and white. They would be able to advise you

DameDeepRedBetty Tue 07-Jan-14 13:03:27

I think you need to tell someone the truth, but who I'm not so sure.

Tiredemma Tue 07-Jan-14 13:07:55

What can your boss do?

I am a nurse manager, I suspect a couple of my staff might smoke weed- as long as they are not coming into work under the influence, or its not impacting upon their work, or im not finding my Controlled drugs going missing- there is very little I can do.

Tiredemma Tue 07-Jan-14 13:08:47

re the violence and anger- if he gets a criminal record then of course that would impact upon whether he could remain in employment

catcatcat Tue 07-Jan-14 13:11:49

IsabellaRockerfeller Tue 07-Jan-14 13:13:01

Firstly, if your boss asks why you slit up you should politely tell him/her that it is a personal matter and you do not wish to discuss it with him/her.

If your ex is working under the influence of drugs this is gross misconduct, a breach of professional standards and is putting patient's lives at risk.

I would contact your union and the nursing and midwifery council for advice on how to best raise your concerns.

www.nmc-uk.org/Hearings/How-the-process-works

but ultimately you need to report it.

InPursuitOfOblivion Tue 07-Jan-14 13:14:35

I agree with Nigellas. It is absolutely none of your bosses business why you split up.