Is DD not posh enough for her new school?

(19 Posts)
peacefuleasyfeeling Thu 02-Jan-14 22:30:58

Looking for some level-headed person to help me get a handle on this one, please. (On phone so can't do paragraphs, apologies.) We live on the outskirts of a perfectly lovely little old estate of modestly sized council and ex-council 3 bed semis (but lovely, big gardens, thank goodness). We are in the process of applying for schools for DD1 who will be starting Reception in September. As we live on the periphery of our estate, our closest primary is one in the very affluent neighbouring area. It's a good school (I am a primary school teacher and know this school fairly well) and we have just assumed DD would go there as we're within spitting distance so definitely live near enough. Today I bumped into a neighbour (also a primary teacher) whom I don't know very well whose son attends said school. I asked her what she thought of it. She grimaced and said that her perception is that the parents are very pushy and snooty, and that the one time her son had a school friend over to play, his friend (aged 6, ffs) had complained that their house (identical to mine, of course) was too small... DP has worried all along that there would be these kinds of issues, but I've told him not to be so silly, not really believing that people really behave like this (I'm from a part of the world where class and social aspiration just don't feature as much in people's consciousness, and the school where I teach is an inner city "urchin school" grin with too broad and ecclectic an intake for these kinds of attitudes to find any kind of foothold. It would break my heart if DD1 was made to feel embarrassed about her home or background because I've sent her to the "wrong" school. Have I been naive? The alternative schools would be the school on the estate, just a little further away, which is one of the most improved in the country (having been turned around in the last couple of years from bleedi