How to respond to this cheeky request

(43 Posts)
joshandjamie Wed 10-Apr-13 22:41:34

So a friend (new friend, don't know well but part of a budding friendship group) is a garden designer. We needed our garden sorted. We asked him if he wanted to take a look for us and do some designs. He duly did and we paid him for them. He then sent us a cost estimate to have the work done by a builder friend of his. It was expensive. I replied saying that we were going to get our own builder to cost it up.

He replied saying that he was happy to talk to our builder to give more details on the designs. So he is being helpful. But then came the corker.

I write for a living. He asked me if I could do him a favour. He asked if he could send over the copy he'd written for his new website so that I could 'look at it with my professional eye and could I edit it for him. No rush.'

So - he does garden design for a living. He creates some designs for us. We pay him.
I write for a living. I must read his copy and edit it for him. For free.

I don't know how to respond to him. It's the principle of it. Why should he get a freebie when I have to pay? I wouldn't mind helping a friend out but surely it's quid pro quo? Incidentally, the price charged if I was being paid would probably be similar to what he charged us.

WWYD?

AnyFucker Wed 10-Apr-13 22:43:00

I would say what you have said here.

GW297 Wed 10-Apr-13 22:43:21

I would say just that - handily enough the price I would charge for my writing just about cancels out your quote for our garden so if you are happy with that...

TeamEdward Wed 10-Apr-13 22:44:34

Do it to be polite, and then chalk it up as "Do not mix business with pleasure"

Chocotrekkie Wed 10-Apr-13 22:44:44

Send him a quote for your work - ask him to confirm (in writing) he is happy with the price before you do anything else..