I made a couple of mistakes at my new job - should I point them out?

(5 Posts)
beansmum Mon 12-Nov-12 21:21:35

Thanks everyone! I won't rush in and make a big deal out of it, I'll wait until Thursday and mention it to the solicitor in charge of the volunteers.

I have a bad habit of blurting things out without thinking, particularly when I'm nervous, but I'll try not to open with "I've made lots of mistakes and they've been keeping me awake at night". I did start my interview for this job by telling them that I was ridiculously early and had been walking up and down outside for 30 minutes, so they already think I'm a bit weird.

HollyMadison Mon 12-Nov-12 07:03:21

Hi. I'm a lawyer and just wanted to say that everybody makes mistakes, particularly when they start. I made a corker in my first few weeks as a solicitor. It is a hard job and requires a lot of judgement which doesn't come easily when you're starting off.

Without knowing the mistakes, it's hard to say what's best. I think if you phone in or make a trip it is likely to make things look bigger than maybe they are and you might not get the chance to speak to the right senior person. When things get difficult it is best to do things face to face.

If it were me I'd wait till you go in next (if you're sure the mistakes are minor and not going to lead to a client suffering cost or anguish over the next few days) and chat to the senior solicitor there (when I worked at law centers there was always a senior practicing solicitor there).