If you love Daphne du Maurier, what else do you love?

(11 Posts)
Sleeperandthespindle Sun 21-Aug-16 18:13:45

She's my friend's favourite author but I know he's read everything, including biographies. I want to buy a book for a present (he's in hospital) but don't know what to get.
Also loves, but has all of, Dickens and Thomas Hardy. Probably also Thackeray, Wilkie Collins and most other classics.
It needs to be something fairly light I think as he's struggling to concentrate. Any thoughts? Thanks.

AppleSetsSail Sun 21-Aug-16 18:17:48

I liked Rebecca very much.

How about the winner of the 2016 Man Booker prize, which is incredibly weird but a good read - Vegetarian? It's very light compared to last year's winner.

lucysnowe Sun 21-Aug-16 20:01:16

Sarah Waters seems quite Du Maurier-ish. The Little Stranger reminds me quite a lot like The Scapegoat for example. Interesting question!

bettys Sun 21-Aug-16 20:31:59

Jean Plaidy? I've read Daughter of Satan and as historical fiction novels go it seemed a little similar to du Maurier's.

sportinguista Wed 28-Sep-16 14:51:13

Difficult, but what about the Poldark novels, Susan Hill's stuff is also very lovely and atmospheric.

In terms of historical fiction I like Bernard Cornwell and Michael Arnold but they are very different to Du Maurier.

squoosh Fri 30-Sep-16 15:26:54

Jospehine Tey
Shirley Jackson
Susan Howatch

soupplate Tue 04-Oct-16 14:14:07

Rumer Godden, Monica Dickens, Elizabeth Jane Howard, Norah Lofts.

TheCountessofFitzdotterel Tue 04-Oct-16 14:18:30

Try Norah Lofts. The Town House would be a good one to start with and has been reprinted recently.

PopGoesTheWeaz Thu 06-Oct-16 22:09:06

Agatha Christie? And the there were none was atmospheric but light.

millymollymandy46 Thu 20-Oct-16 23:17:48

Mary Stewart - Madam Will you Talk? Mystery in France but nice and light. Bit of WWII background might appeal out of interest.

GK Chesterton's Monsignor Quixhote?

traviata Thu 20-Oct-16 23:32:41

Rose Tremain.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now