Weaning and milk-Really struggling

(16 Posts)
CuppaSarah Fri 04-Oct-13 09:43:41

Hello! I've been weaning DD who is 7 and a half months old since she was 6 months. As far as food is concerned she is doing amazing and is practically a hoover. But when it comes to milk I'm absolutely struggling and have no idea if where we're at is ok? Basically I went to HV two weeks ago to get her weighed and queried how often she was still feeding, which was about 6 BFs still. The HV said it was too much and just comfort feeding, so it would be a good idea to reduce to 3 feeds then down to 2 by the time she's 8 months.

I've been doing this, one BF in the morning, lunch and bedtime. Then giving her a tippy cup with water the rest of the day, but she refuses water, even if I try from a bottle. She's been tearful and run down these past two weeks too, but that could jsut be coincidence. Today I gave her a bottle of formula for a drink instead, she had 4 ounces after breakfast and was so calm and relaxed and magically not tearful.

Now I'm really scared I'm making her regress and stopping her develop properly by giving her milk and giving it from a bottle when she's this old. The HV implied she shouldn't have milk very often anymore, but she just really seems to enjoy it. The Bottle is one of those ones with handles and she fed herself if that makes a difference? I'm not damaging her am I? Is this ok? Or do I need to sort it out? I just hate not giving her milk knowing how much she loves it. She barely drinks any water either.sad I'm totally at a lose of what to do.

Oh god, what is with these HVs?! Just give her milk! My twins are 8 months and despite eating loads, haven't dropped a single feed. Although the length of some feeds is reducing a bit. And they still have at least 2 feeds in the night.