Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Vaccinations and nursery schools

(564 Posts)
Louise1010 Fri 13-Jul-12 00:04:37

This is my first post so forgive me if I do anything wrong!

I am just beginning to look at nursery schools for my 15 month old son, and I am a bit surprised that they don't seem to care whether or not he has been vaccinated. I expected it to be a requirement.

It seems incredible to me that I have to provide evidence of my cat's jabs to the cattery but when it comes to children anything goes.

Has anyone come across a nursery school in the UK that does require it?

RevoltingChildren Fri 13-Jul-12 00:19:37

My children's school wanted the kids to have had their tetanus jab as it saves hassle if they have an accident but in the uk schools and nurseries are not able to discriminate Against an unvaccinated child.

Ds was not fully vaccinated until he was about 6. Some children for various reasons never are. It's parental choice

At catteries/kennels kennel cough spreads like wildfire so it's a totally different thing.

Accuracyrequired Fri 13-Jul-12 02:23:16

If your concern is about your vaccinated child mixing with unvaccinated children I shouldn't worry. I'm sure you feel confident that he is protected by his immunisations.

Louise1010 Fri 13-Jul-12 07:21:31

I guess partly I feel there's a principle at stake, and also no vaccine is 100% effective in everyone but we are protected by the 'herd immunity' of everyone else being vaccinated. 'Parent choice' puts other people's children at risk.

I know the risk is relatively small but I feel very strongly about it and wanted to make this a criteria we used when choosing a nursery. It seems I don't get that choice.

bumbleymummy Fri 13-Jul-12 09:16:38

Louise, what principle is that? You realise that your 'criteria' would discriminate and take away freedom of choice don't you?

Louise1010 Fri 13-Jul-12 09:31:10