Threads in this topic will auto-delete 30 days after the OP is posted.

What do you have to show for your life?

(51 Posts)
QueenLizIII Fri 04-Nov-16 16:01:21

Considering what you put in, are you happy with what you have to show for it?

Costacoffeeplease Fri 04-Nov-16 16:02:29

Yes

LifeLong13 Fri 04-Nov-16 16:02:55

Not happy at all. I have a husband and a daughter. That is it. Sweet FA apart from them

Lottapianos Fri 04-Nov-16 16:03:23

Broadly, yes. A bit more money would always be nice! I have a healthy relationship with my DP, a nice home which we own, freedom, independence, my health, my sanity (hard won), a job that pays me enough to have a decent lifestyle and which is fairly secure. I feel a lot luckier than many

QueenLizIII Fri 04-Nov-16 16:05:43

I have a few degree certificates. Career has gone a bit tits up lately. paid off a mountain of student debt

I have a few clothes and some old furniture and a rental place.

no kids no dp nothing.

cant help thinking it hasnt been worth it.

fitzbilly Fri 04-Nov-16 16:08:46

Your viewing it all wrong though

It's not about what material things you have. Owning things is not really why we live so it's not something to use to measure the success your life.

What's the point of life anyway?

You have to accept who you are and accept that the choices you made led to the life you have, and you have power to change that at any time.

GiddyOnZackHunt Fri 04-Nov-16 16:08:55

Yes. I do feel a bit vapid when you think about people who had done all manner of amazing stuff by my age (mid 40s) but littering along being a decent sort isn't a terrible thing.

m0therofdragons Fri 04-Nov-16 16:09:54

Depends how old you are.

I'm happy I have dh, 3dc, a pretty good job (would like to be more senior but dc are still little so maybe another 5 years things will be different), nice house (nothing amazing but very happy here), go on lovely holidays. I'm 34.