Please help a horse dimwit

(15 Posts)
Ricksheadtilt Sun 03-Jul-16 15:26:21

Dd3 (5) is doing what I assume is the normal little girl horse obsession thing (other 2 never did this though). I'm fairly sure this is fuelled by my little pony & other cute horsey/unicorn stuff. I realise that this is an expensive & professional 'hobby'. I have no experience and no-one I know is into horses so I have no-one to advise. I don't want to crush her dreams, but I have very little money.
Do riding schools do free or cheap taster sessions? There's a chance after all that once she realises how big horses actually are she may hate it (not projecting or hoping - if any of my girls have a talent or interest I will do my all to try to accommodate). Should she be enthralled or good is there any likelihood at all that they would allow a mom to muck out every morning in payment?
Any advice at all would be gratefully received. Apologies if I'm comb across as very naive or rude. My horse experience is limited to reading black beauty as a child.

OurBlanche Sun 03-Jul-16 15:31:24

Have a look in your local facebook and ask. Round here lots of riding stables would be very happy to give a horse mad small child 'a go'* on a real horse whilst chatting to the know-nothing-about-horses parents about the realities of lessons, clothing etc.

*as in being introduced, shown how to offer mints and not fingers, and other age appropriate activities.

insertimaginativeusername Sun 03-Jul-16 15:35:38

None where I am would do free or cheap taster sessions but I guess it wouldn't hurt to ask?