What has been your highest vets bill and why?

(13 Posts)
Poppyseed111 Tue 16-Feb-16 08:45:01

Hi, I started riding at the grand age old of 54 and have now, aged 57 bought my very first horse! Beyond excited!! He's a 14 year old cob who has been in the same home for the last ten years and I have known him for two. He has had no major health issues and I am lucky enough to be keeping him on the same yard. .

My dilemma is to insure against vets fees or put a sum of money aside? (am thinking around 5k). Insurance will be around £40 a month to start but will only go up as he gets older so my question is how high has your highest vets bill been so far? Any advice greatly appreciated,

frostyfingers Tue 16-Feb-16 09:53:36

Hmm, tricky one really. What are your plans for him? I do insure my horses but I do higher risk stuff like hunting & team chasing. Having said that my biggest vets bill was for Kissing Spine Surgery which topped £5k (including diagnosis, rehab & physio). Second biggest was around £1.5k which was for an injury sustained in the field, and sadly fatal. My first horse wasn't insured for fees and I spent a lot on sarcoid treatment which is why with the next I went for it.

Who have you had a quote from? In my experience NFU were outrageously expensive but I know others have had good prices from them, I'm currently with SEIB who have been very efficient handling claims and were £300 less than NFU on my last quote (December), I tried Petplan & KBIS as well and they were both substantially higher than SEIB but not as pricey as NFU. Don't touch E&L.

Poppyseed111 Tue 16-Feb-16 17:21:08