First attempt to hack out alone was a disaster. Really need some advice please!

(17 Posts)
Lexis1980 Sun 10-Nov-13 17:36:16

I've had my share horse for about 10 months now, I am a novice rider (and I am the first person to admit that) and this is my first share so I have taken things really slowly. My horse is a really safe, steady suitable for a novice type.

For the first 3/4 months I didn't even hack out at all, just rode in the school, then gradually I started hacking out with other horses/riders from the yard. We took it slowly, building up step by step until I was cantering with confidence in wide open spaces with the other horses. I have also built up my confidence in the school and am now cantering with no stirrups and jumping with confidence. All stuff I have done before at riding school but as you will appreciate having your own horse or a share is very different from being at riding school.

Ten months into the share, as we seemed to be making good progress, I decided I was ready to try hacking alone, so the first time, to be on the safe side, I asked a friend to accompany me on foot. Everything was fine, we did a 30 minute hack, horse was perfect in walk, trot and canter, I was really pleased.

So this weekend, I decided to hack out all alone for the first time (as in just me and horse and no one accompanying us either on horse or foot). I rode in the school for 15 minutes first then decided to do a mini-hack, literally just down the lane and back. Problem is, I could not get my horse out the entrance to the yard blush I was carrying a schooling whip to reinforce my leg aids, but my horse just span around and refused to go out the yard entrance. I turned in a few circles etc to get him walking forward again but just couldn't get out the yard entrance.