please could i have some valuation help

(11 Posts)

for a 13.1hh 5yr old mare, still green but very willing to learn. has been ridden by novice children and not put a foot wrong. jumps coloured poles/fillers and xc jumps inc ditches
never bucked, reared, bolted and not spooky
hacks alone and in company but slightly nervous of larger traffic alone
can be difficult to catch but will come if you have food (or just a rattly piece of paper)
good with farrier but never been shod on trimmed

its been a while since i have sold a pony and the current market seems a bit erratic

Lovesswimming Thu 04-Jul-13 12:57:23

Is she a Heinz 57?
She's young but when I've looked for ponies I've looked around £800 - £1200, ponies who've done lots at shows, events will go for more, those that have done well at pony club sell for lots but if you're being realistic I'd say around that. I'd have to say I'm no expert but have bought 12.2h and 13.1hh (one of them last summer) and had a good look round. I discounted those advertised over £1500. The one I bought last summer, the dad selling said he'd had lots if interest when they dropped the price to £1000. Hope that helps.

thanks, her breeding is unknown but she came from Bodmin Moor so im guessing Dartmoor x.
unfortunately i'm unable to get her any show or pony club experience as adults cannot ride ponies at our local show

Butkin Thu 04-Jul-13 13:38:35

I'd say start around 950 pounds and be prepared to drop if necessary. Do you have any teenagers who could compete her in some way - local show jumping etc? Without some form she will be hard to sell.

SlowlorisIncognito Thu 04-Jul-13 14:38:38

I think it is hard to say. If she is really safe for novice children, there is a good market there, but at 5 she probably needs someone a bit more experienced, especially if she hasn't been to many shows. I would get her out and about, even if you have to travel a bit further a feild, as this will add value.