Pony club. Is it worth dd joining as a complete beginner?

(12 Posts)
D0G Fri 22-Feb-13 19:19:37

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

shashep Fri 22-Feb-13 21:03:56

Yes, join - it's what they're there for. I loved my pony club time, learnt lots, and had lots of fun, it's the best thing that you could do for her and her pony.

D0G Fri 22-Feb-13 21:47:31

SaggyOldClothCatpuss Fri 22-Feb-13 21:50:06

How old is she? Pony club round here tends to be small beginners, then older more experienced riders. It's worth checking out your local one because If dd is older she might not enjoy being with much younger children. Preferable round here is the local riding club. Much more laid back and mixed ages and abilities.

D0G Fri 22-Feb-13 21:56:18

SaggyOldClothCatpuss Fri 22-Feb-13 22:11:21

Sounds good. Just don't get sucked into the whole PC mentality of this horse isn't good/big/fast enough we must get another! Ours is very much 'professional' PC. It does my head in! We have a yard full of PC rejects!

D0G Fri 22-Feb-13 22:13:54

SaggyOldClothCatpuss Fri 22-Feb-13 23:15:03

I think it varies from PC to PC. This area has a lot of money in it, [commuter belt] and our PC is quite competitive. Just dont take any notice. Do what I did and say 'piss off, ths is our pony and we like her! We took DD on our big trad shettie. You would have thought she was riding a two headed alien! grin Our local riding club is much nicer.

WillowKnicks Fri 22-Feb-13 23:36:11

Definitely join!

I worried first time we went (in at the deep end for a PC camp!) that everyone would have super posh ponies & look down their nose at our un posh one lol but it was absolutely fine & he held his own like a little trooper! There are absolute beginners on lead rein to some amazing riders but everyone is grouped to their ability.