Do you feel guilty when you have time off sick?

(9 Posts)
KeepPloddingOn Sun 14-Jun-15 10:22:03

Because I am ill again.

My sickness record has never been so bad.

It's all been 2 days here, a week there - and only since Christmas. It's been vomitting bugs, xhest infections- things I really can't teach through. If I have a fever I pop a couple of paracetamol and go in....but when you are throwing up....or get breathless after a 10min conversation theres just no chance.

but I just feel so guilty.

MrsUltracrepidarian Sun 14-Jun-15 11:54:47

I am a supply teacher, so grateful you are keeping me in work.
Have you seen a doctor about this? If you have some impairment of your immune system should be investigated?

CtrlAltDelicious Sun 14-Jun-15 11:57:53

Yes I do. It's stupid but I can't help it. I feel like people won't believe I'm really ill. I do anything to avoid being off actually as I can't bear the thought of someone rummaging through my planning file trying to work it out.

Minispringroll Sun 14-Jun-15 13:30:29

I do feel a little guilty. But then, I don't get ill often during term time. (I've had 3 sick days in the last 10 years.) I get ill in the holidays, though. confused
No issue with people not believing me that I'm ill. When I get ill, it hits me properly. There's no room for doubt. grin

WhenMarnieWasThere Sun 14-Jun-15 13:33:32

Yes and no.

When my class is covered and I'm signed off sick for something then I don't.

If it's the first 3 days of longer term sickness (like my operation this month) or an odd day here or there for being generally unwell then I do feel guilty as there's no money for supply teachers in our budget and the sickness cover insurance that all schools have with the county doesn't kick in til the 4th day. The already stretched TAs have to cover.

KeepPloddingOn Sun 14-Jun-15 14:09:13

Ctrl
thats exactly how I feel - they won't believe that I'm really ill.