Job application advice

(11 Posts)
MrsKCastle Thu 14-May-15 19:02:28

I know it has been done a lot, but could really use some advice/support. I'm applying for new primary jobs after a very stressful year, which has really knocked my confidence- I ended up off work for 3 months after failing an observation. Since returning, I have only been observed once, by an external inspector. The lesson went brilliantly- she said it was a privilege to be in my classroom- but due to the nature of the observation I don't have any written feedback. So on paper, I am a failing teacher.

So, how can I write a personal statement which actually shows what I'm capable of? Can I refer to verbal feedback? Will I be asked in interviews (if I can get them!) about my ratings/previous obs? Will that kind of info be disclosed in my references? There's so many things I'm not sure about!

justtheonethen Fri 15-May-15 19:33:21

I would definitely include the most recent feedback by the external person when referring to the standards. Do try and think of lots of examples for each though. I have been observed by an ex education secretary and I always mention it. grin

In my experience I have never been asked about lesson observation judgements in an interview.

I have also had (and seen) many references and they have never mentioned my lesson judgements.

It sounds like you've had a stressful time. If it helps I taught in an awful school and nothing I did was right despite previous schools grading me outstanding. I had no problems getting another job.

Without meaning to sound harsh, if you have had that shit a year then they will be happy for you to get a new job and it won't be in their interests to give you a bad reference.

If you want me to read over your personal statement pm me and I'll send my email. I'm good at those wink

Good luck

peacoat Fri 15-May-15 19:40:03

I agree. I've never been asked about any lesson obs in an interview.