Alternatives to 'what I did in the hols'

(8 Posts)
AnotherTeacherMum Sun 10-Aug-14 22:07:24

I teach in a 3 form entry school so plan alongside my colleagues. I am new to the school and they mentioned that they do not get stuck in with planning for the first week, and just do lots of 'what I did in the hols' type stuff. Problem is my school is in a really deprived area, from the info I already have I know that I have a child who has been having chemo for cancer and hopefully will be back for Sep, kids who have been/are on the 'at risk' register, and kids who just generally may not have had a good summer.

What other ideas do people do to 'ease them in'? I teach y5.

I was actually thinking of doing some get to know each other activities, introduce the first topic in a very broad way and maybe do some maths games based on what they did last year. What do you think??? I have done supply for quite a while but never had my own class before (NQT) so new to all this really...

FabulousFudge Sun 10-Aug-14 22:46:51

Reinforce the school's golden rules and remind the children about the behaviour policy (both rewards and sanctions,) plus any class rewards you wish to introduce. Also talk briefly about routines and assign any monitors etc.

I always think it's best to just get stuck into the topic and lessons from day one, as much as possible. It's also good to do some display work early on, so that you can get cracking with them.

Good luck!

toomuchicecream Mon 11-Aug-14 15:46:31

When I started as an NQT in year 5 I got them to describe themselves in exactly 40 words. Description was then put with a self portrait to make an instant display.

bigTillyMint Mon 11-Aug-14 15:56:17

Do your own mini-topic for a week? Maybe using a book as a starting point/stimulus? Google The Literacy Tree for some fab ideas (its not me, but a friend/excolleaguewink)

roughtyping Mon 11-Aug-14 15:57:57

We start the first term with a book study. Loads of good stuff online.