ZOMBIE THREAD ALERT: This thread hasn't been posted on for a while.

Working within Early Years/Foundation Stage

(4 Posts)

Hello everyone, hope you don't mind me popping my head into this bit of the boards to ask for some advice. At the moment, I'm currently volunteering in a children's centre, and am waiting to do my CACHE Level 2 in September. I have no DC of my own but love what I do in the centre and will be progressing to Level 3 (all being well) once I've completed Level 2.

I'm not sure yet whether I'd then go onto gain Qualified Teacher Status, or simply stick with the Level 3. I have a degree in an unrelated subject, does the subject of any degree have an impact if I did decide to go down the teaching route?

Also, does anyone have any tips for Level 2/3? I think I will have to do some plans, and I know I'll get observed for my competency based units, but as they've just redesigned the CACHE qualifications, I don't know much else.

For those who teach Foundation Stage, what's the planning and paperwork load like? I'm amazed that even a parent and child play together session at our centre requires a fair amount of paperwork - then the children who attend our smaller groups all have learning journeys that need to be kept up to date, and targets set for those children.

I had NO idea early years was like that, when I started. It doesn't put me off, but I just didn't expect it. I suspect my learning curve will be quite steep, so any tips on surviving would be most welcome!

toomuchicecream Thu 03-Jul-14 05:29:40

With sufficient experience and good references from relevant settings, degree subject completely irrelevant in my experience (mine is Business Studies).

Loads and loads of paperwork for everything in schools. Individual learning journeys for all Reception children full of observations, photos, evidence of what they can do