Teaching in same school as your own children

(12 Posts)
goldenlilliesdaffodillies Fri 02-May-14 21:27:27

I am a part time teacher and teach both my children. This part is generally OK (writing their reports is interesting though!).

The trouble I find is that it can be very lonely being both a teacher and parent in the same school. I feel I don't fit into either camps and have to be very careful what I say to either group. We were recently told on a training day, never be friends with parents. Be friendly but never friends. In my experience some parents will try and dig for information when I have my 'parent' hat on and it can be really uncomfortable at times. Birthday parties or social events can be very tricky. I have another 8 years of being a parent at this school. It can also be awkward when in the staff room too.

How do other teachers in similar situations manage this situation?

Philoslothy Fri 02-May-14 23:08:55

I teach at my children's school, have no real issues tbh. I am in quite a senior position so quite visible and everyone in the village knows who I am .

We hold parties and social events which parents may attend , I just make clear that I don 't discuss school out of hours.

goldenlilliesdaffodillies Sat 03-May-14 11:12:15

Thanks for your reply.
There are many major changes going on in our school which makes things abit more tricky than usual.

MissMillament Sat 03-May-14 11:12:27

We were recently told on a training day, never be friends with parents. Be friendly but never friends.

That is a bizarre and unworkable edict imo. Communities are intertwined in all sorts of ways. I have frequently taught the children of friends - am I supposed to stop being friends with them while their children are in my class. Obviously, you do your best to keep the two sides of your life separate and not discuss school issues outside working hours.