Teacher becoming TA

(11 Posts)
dietstartsagaintomorrow Sun 27-Apr-14 10:34:55

Does anyone have any experience of leaving teaching to become a TA / HLTA?

I currently work 0.5 in a job share class but after a difficult start to the year out of school and increasing pressures at work I am considering becoming a TA.
I have 12 years teaching experience and can't imagine not working in a school but feel that me and my family (and colleagues) would be better off if I took on a different role.
My children will both be in school full time from September and if I took on a full time position it would only be a slight drop in pay from my 0.5 wage.

I was just wondering if anyone had any experience of this? How were you treated at interview? Did you stay in the same school or move? Were there any issues with teachers you worked with / for?

I haven't spoke to my headteacher yet although my PM leader knows I am considering a change. There are no roles currently available at my school but that may change in the next month.

AlpacaLypse Sun 27-Apr-14 10:41:09

Someone else did a thread about this not that long ago - worth looking back through in search of it? Appreciate it's hard to find stuff especially if it's been put in Chat or AIBU due to some people not being arsed to look for the right Topic before they start posting

I think the biggest difficulty would be if you found yourself working with a teacher who, perhaps due to inexperience, did not do things the way you would.

Smartiepants79 Sun 27-Apr-14 10:47:15

Doing it in the same school could have its pros and cons. The children still seeing you as a teacher could be helpful but your presence might make other teachers uncomfortable. It also may be perceived by parents that you did this cos you are unable to cope and there may be a loss of respect?... Some people don't appreciate the importance of TAs and see it (wrongly) as less of a job.